EngageNY Math, now Eureka, A Common Core Dropping

When I first looked at Engageny math I thought “ghastly”.
I am not alone. Read on…..

IGNITE! ... Fire is Catching

There is an elephant in the room…

And this elephant is creating quite the stench.

The numerous discussions happening around the country regarding EngageNY, a “free” math program, are snow balling. More and more school districts are considering adopting this program, as others are dumping it (no pun intended).

What do you know about it? Where did it start? What’s its history? Is it “free”? How much did it cost to write? Who wrote it?

Or a bolder question: What in the H. E. double hockey sticks is this?

ComplicityI’m often tagged and asked to join discussion threads with these questions, amongst numerous others. I’ve been very vocal about my thoughts regarding this math program, and my angst regarding what harm it is causing children.  I do not fear discussing the elephant in the room…  especially an elephant causing such a stink. How could I not speak up? As a 26 year math educator, I…

View original post 2,356 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

My wordpress emails suddenly disappeared last night ??????

